What are connectors in Conduit?
Connectors allow specific users to have read access to data for reporting purposes. When creating a connector, the admin has the ability to select what data is visible to specific user groups. Also, the admin can allow caching for specific data, and have the ability to enable hybrid joins for the data. To create a connector review instructions for each data source type.
Edit a connector
By default, when the Edit connector wizard is opened, you can navigate to any tab you need without restrictions. Some changes in Authentication or Publish steps may require other steps to be edited before saving, having data that is dependent on the edited fields.
- Datasources: - You can only edit the Description. The field is not mandatory and the content will be visible in the list of connectors in the Connectors page.
- Changing any details for the Impersonation credentials will trigger the Publish step to be required and all the other steps are not available for browsing since they are dependent upon the published data. When you move to the Publish tab, Conduit is verifying the credentials used to connect to the datasource.
- Changing the Authentication type to Conduit Authentication with Impersonation or Active Directory with Impersonation will require to select appropriate users groups in the Authorization tab.
- Add more tables to be published. If you want to add alias to the newly added tables, or partition columns, you should visit Advanced step, where you can configure the details.
- Remove some tables that are already published.
- Checking/un-checking the option available on the Virtualization step will add/remove caching options in the Advanced step
- You can change the users/groups that have access to the published data
- Based on the changing done in Publish and Virtualization steps, you can change Caching behavior or you can modify some attributes for the published tables.
Some changes in steps like Authentication or Publish may require other steps to be edited before saving, having data that is dependent on the edited fields.
Delete a connector
When you decide to delete a connector, select it from the list and click on the Delete button. Confirm the action and then the connector will be removed and all the published data will become unavailable to the users.
Data unavailable when connectors are deleted
When a connector is deleted, all publish data will become unavailable for the analysts. Reports built in visualization tools that depend on this connector will throw errors about not being able to connect to the data. All saved and published reports won't be functional anymore.
Connectors can be cloned. New connector will have the same configuration as the original one. Access, publish selection, caching and advanced settings can be updated on as needed basic, the same rules apply as for any existing connector.
To clone a connector, click Clone connector button. This will open window where you can specify name for the new connector.
To confirm clone creation, click Submit.
To cancel cloning, click Close.